Tearflakes

Posted: August 18, 2011 in Poetry
Tags: , , ,

 

My father passed away November 30th 2010.  I was at work.  I was busy treating a patient. Once I had finished, I saw a bunch of missed calls and texts, one which said ‘Dad is dead’.

I informed my colleagues, spoke to a sibling, packed my workbag and walked to the train station so I could make my way home.

As I was walking, all of a sudden it began to snow. That is the one fact I remember most about that day.

I see the snow as something different now.

 

Tearflakes

 

Oh dark brooding sky
Who has broken your heart
That you cry so hard?

Sending tears from your lofty heights
Know that I feel the same
We both suffer from 
A kind of pain

Now your teardrops turn to snowflakes
Has your heart begun to turn to ice?

Turned cold by your sadness

Is that what awaits me?

Right now the tears are warm
Given heat by my blazing heart
Which consumes me

I look forward to this fiery furnace of flesh being tamed
So that my youthful ache

Can metamorphosise into a more melancholy state

Then I too will cry icy tearflakes

 

 

Yours Truly

Zishaan ‘ZuZu’ Shafi

Comments
  1. I often wonder why we are so sad that our parents pass on – because they are in a better place, which we will go to meet with them one day. My mom died when I was five she was 33.and this topic keeps coming up death and such, so a good thing I stopped here and I think my post needs to be about this very topic. Great idea.

  2. lifewith4cats says:

    This is very ineresting wordcraft. Though I would hope your fires always burn hot. and not cold with ice.

  3. Thank you Jackie- sadness is definitely for the ones left behind, youre right, theyre in a better place. Grief is an almost selfish thing, its personal and centred around how you feel. It gives nothing to the one who passed. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

    Thank you Sara for the kind words. Appreciate the feedback. :))

  4. Michele nevitt says:

    That’s beautiful Zee! It reminds me of when my Mum passed away at the same time as your Dad. I too was at work treating patients and received missed calls but no texts.
    Life is strange isn’t it. November for me is the cruellest month for other reasons too which I can’t even talk about. One thing is for sure though that we both have a great faith and that’s the invisible glue that keeps us together when we feel like falling apart.
    I will pray for your Dad this weekend and light a candle for his soul, which resides with G*D in heaven and looks over you and your family.
    G*D bless. Xxx

    • Thanks Michelle, I know you can relate, infact feel more then I can. Youre a strong spirit, and youre right, faith is what keeps us from falling. Faith, Family and Friends. Thank you for commenting and for your kind words. xxxx

  5. Very pretty words and very sad sentiment. This was a very elegant tribute to your father. Sorry for your loss.

Share YOUR Thoughts. Simply Write Your Comment. Hit Post Comment. Done! No need to add any Info/Login etc. You can if you wish or leave a comment via your Wordpress/Twitter/Facebook Accounts.

